Graphical bugs when in or around water causing NOLF1 to be unplayable

Hi everyone, I'm new to this series and this community. I've been wanting to play the NOLF games for quite a while now and I was unbelievably excited when I received them in the mail today. I heard NOLF 1 in particular needs some tinkering to get working on modern systems, so I didn't think that would be an issue, seeing as I've done this with many, many other games already and always get them working perfectly.

Well, that's not the case this time around. I've been searching Google and even this very forum for hours and have not found a solution to my problem or even another person who experienced it as well. Basically, I'm having HUGE graphical bugs, all related to water, one of which makes the game literally unplayable. Whenever I look in the direction of water sources, I get these constant flashes of stretched, distorted textures across my screen. Water itself also only appears within like a three foot radius and is completely invisible past that point. And finally, when I go underwater, my screen turns completely black. I've tried everything I could find and think of. The game is running flawlessly aside from these issues, I've got the widescreen and framerate fixes and all of that, but nothing I'm doing will fix these graphical bugs. Changing settings doesn't do anything, running the game in different compatibility modes doesn't do anything, I'm just out of ideas.

I'm running the game on a laptop. Intel Pentium 2020M 2.4GHz, Intel HD Graphics, 4GB RAM, and Windows 8.1. If you would like to see video of these bugs, I can record a quick clip of it happening.