Setup

Guest Doffy90

Guest Doffy90

i went to the Winky's tutorial site but the page on how to setup DEdit is not working :S

i can ever start making a map without knowing how to set it up

anyone?

I seem to recall there being a few other tutorials out there but I don't remember where. Anyone?

Mapping. *shudder* I tried following the awesome Wiky's tutorial, but it wasn't written for totally clueless morons like me so I quickly got lost and relied on Spawn to help me. When he wasn't around, I frequently got frustrated to the point of banging my head on the table and decided it's not worth the headache. All my mapping dreams will have to stay dreams. I'm an artist, not a mapper. laugh.gif

Good luck with it, Doffy.

Ok first Open up DEdit

Then hit File > Open Project or Open World, I forget which one.

Go to My Computer > Local Disk > Programs and Files > Fox > No One Lives Forever 2 > Game > TO3.Dep ( Maybe it was TO2.Dep, Im not sure tongue.gif )

That will load all of your Prefabs, textures, all that junk.

Well since you told me on MSN the options here they are.

The Run Tab should have the following setting.

Executable

C:\Program Files\Fox\No One Lives Forever 2\NOLF2.exe

Working Directory

C:\Program Files\Fox\No One Lives Forever 2\GAME

Program Arguements

-rez engine.rez -rez Game +runworld "%WorldName%"

( Please note the WorldName part, you DONT put your worlds name.

Run is really the only one you need to double check. The other ones have default settings right.

• 1 year later...

Yeah, I just got DEdit for NOLF2 today so I can make my first custom map "KNIX's Raceway" and I've watched the NOLF1 DEdit tutorial vids from The site that shall not be named. Useful as they are, they don't help me for this version very much.